Dr. Heesun Chung

Dr. Heesun Chung is the dean of The Graduate School of Analytical Science and Technology, Chungnam National University, Korea. She obtained her PhD in Pharmacy from Sookmyung Women’s University, Korea in 1987, and subsequently was awarded Foreign Commonwealth Office Scholarship to do further postdoctoral study in King’s College, London. She was the Director General (Grade 1) of the National Forensic Service (formally National Institute of Scientific Investigation) from 2010-2012, and from 2008-2010, was Director General (Grade 2) on National Institute of Scientific Investigation, Korea.

She had also held many top forensic related posts in Korea such as Head of Department of Forensic Science, Director of Narcotics Analysis Division and Director of Drug and Toxicology Divison, National Institute of Scientific Investigation and many more. She lectures at the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences; Sookmyung Women’s University, Korean National Police University, Korean Police Investigation Academy and is a visiting professor at Dongguk University, 2013-2014. She is the current president of The International Association of Forensic Sciences (IAFS) and is also the President-elect of the International Association of Forensic Toxicologists (TIAFT). These are just two of her many involvement with forensic professional bodies in Korea. She is also on the Editorial board, Forensic Toxicologists and Forensic Science International.

Dr. Chung is a licensed Pharmacist and toxicologist; she had presented findings at numerous international meetings and symposia. Her research has resulted in the publication over 100 scientific articles. For last five years, 40 articles have been published at the International and national journals. She is the holder of several patents, and the writer of book. Dr. Chung was awarded many medals and awards including medal for the distinguished service by the Korean government 2012, the most outstanding woman Scientist award for 2007, the order of Mongolian government in 2009, First Prize in performance of executive agencies by the Ministry of Administration and Public Security 2010 and 2011 and the Golden Prize for Public sector by Korean Pharmaceutical Association and many more.